Dignity in Care Training

Dignity in Care
£25 +VAT

This Dignity in Care course will give you a strong awareness of how to uphold dignity in a care setting. It will look at the various areas of care that you must pay particular attention to as a caregiver, as well as practical methods of improving services and processes so that they uphold dignity.

This knowledge will enable you to care for patients of all ages and from all walks of life in a way that makes them feel secure, comfortable, and, most importantly, valued and respected.

  • Developed by healthcare professionals
  • Accredited by CPD
  • Fully online course and assessment with no time limits
  • Full audio voiceover
  • Approximate duration: 3-4 hours
  • On completion, certificate is posted the next working day

Who should take this course?

This Dignity in Care course is designed for anyone who delivers care in a care setting, whether it be a hospital or care home, such as:

  • Nurses
  • Carers
  • Social workers
  • Midwives
  • Doctors
  • Other healthcare professionals

The course is designed to give the learner a strong understanding of what actions and attitudes help promote a patient’s dignity and ensure they receive the best level of care possible, so to enhance their quality of life.


CPD Approved

All of our courses are accredited by the CPD Certification Service as conforming to universally accepted Continuing Professional Development (CPD) guidelines.

On successful completion of the course you will be sent a quality assured certificate through the post the next working day. This can be used to provide evidence for compliance and audit. 

This certificate does not have an expiry date. However, based on industry best practice guidelines, the recommended renewal period for this training is 3 years. We will print this recommended renewal date on your certificate.

Skills for Health Quality Mark Digital

High Speed Training was the very first training provider to be awarded the prestigious Skills for Health Quality Mark Digital. Skills for Health is the UK’s Sector Skills Council for Health, responsible for informing national policy, maintaining the Core Skills Training Framework (CSTF) and championing the entire UK healthcare workforce.

The Skills for Health Quality Mark Digital demonstrates exceptional, quality assured learning and development. Meaning that our training processes have met rigorous quality assurance assessment and nationally recognised expectations of the UK health sector.

Skills for Care Endorsed Training Provider

Learn more about our Skills for Care endorsed training provider.

We're proud to be officially endorsed by Skills for Care, the strategic body for workforce development in social care in England and a delivery partner for the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC). Skills for Care endorsement is a trusted quality mark only awarded to the best learning and development providers within the social care sector.

Care England National Care Forum Health and Social Care Alliance Scotland Member

Our Commitment to Health and Social Care

High Speed Training has supported thousands of Health and Social Care workers in gaining accredited certificates to help them deliver safe and effective care. We best serve care providers by committing to being at the forefront of sector issues, policy and legislation, ensuring our training is up-to-date, comprehensive and meaningful.

As part of our commitment to Health and Social Care, we have worked hard to build partnerships with authorities and leading bodies, including Care England, Health and Social Care Alliance Scotland (the ALLIANCE), and the National Care Forum (NCF).

Screenshots (click to view)

If you wish to try this course then register for a demo by clicking the 'interactive demo' button. You will be given the option to purchase and continue with your course at the end of your demo!

Interactive Demo

Course content

1Introduction to Dignity in Care

What is dignity?, the four categories of dignity, and how can dignity be affected in care?

2Legislation and Dignity in Care

The Human Rights Act (1998), the Equality Act (2010), the Mental Capacity Act (2005), Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (2009), and the Mental Health Act (2007).

3The Dignity Dos

The 10 dignity dos, zero tolerance for abuse, support as you would want to be supported, treating every patient as an individual, maintaining independence, choice, and control, supporting people to express wants and needs, respecting people’s privacy, ensuring people can complain, engaging with family members and carers, maintaining confidence and self-esteem, alleviating people’s loneliness and isolation, and understanding discrimination.

4The Dignity Factors: Part 1

The 8 dignity factors, the 3Ps, choice and control, communication, eating and nutritional care, and pain management.

5The Dignity Factors: Part 2

Personal hygiene, practical assistance, privacy, and social inclusion.

6Promoting Dignity: Specific Groups and Sectors

Children, mental health, cognitive disabilities, A&E, and end of life.

 Download Course Overview (PDF)

Aims of the course

By the end of this course, learners will have a thorough understanding of:

  • What is meant by dignity and the various factors that determine whether or not a person's dignity is being upheld.
  • How care settings and their processes might infringe on a person's dignity.
  • The pieces of relevant legislation and the various principles they put forward.
  • The 10 dignity dos and the ways in which you can meet them, as well as how discrimination can impact on dignity and how to prevent it.
  • The 8 dignity factors and the 3Ps, and how to fulfil each factor through positive actions and attitudes.
  • The ways in which other areas of care, e.g. maternity, A&E, and end of life, may be at risk of undignified care, and what you can do to ensure dignity is upheld.


The online assessment is taken on completion of the training material. You will be asked 10 multiple choice questions with a pass mark of 80%. The answers are marked automatically so you will instantly know whether you have passed. If you don't pass don't worry! You can take the test as many times as you need with no extra charge.